Ireland selects 14-player squad for third ODI against England


SOUTHAMPTON, England – Cricket Ireland’s national men’s selectors have made one change to the 14-player squad for today’s third and final one-day international against England at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.

The 14-player match squad is:

  • Andrew Balbirnie (c), Paul Stirling (vc), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Peter Chase, Gareth Delany, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, William Porterfield, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors, said:

“The last ODI is certainly not a dead rubber, given the World Cup Super League points up for grabs. We’re looking for a strong finish with a more complete performance from the squad. There have been plenty of positives from the first two games – particularly Curtis Campher’s all-round efforts – and if the squad continue to show the tenacity and fight which saw them reduce England to 137-6, then hopefully we can close it out and finish the series on a high.”

Series details

  • 30 July: 1st ODI v England (completed)
  • 1 August: 2nd ODI v England (completed)
  • 4 August: 3rd ODI v England (day/night, starts 2pm)

Series scorecards

All three ODIs will be available to watch live on Sky Sports Cricket in Ireland/UK. Please check local guides for countries outside of this. BBC Sport will be providing Test Match Special commentary, BBC2 will provide TV highlights and BBC social media will feature video clips during play.

World Cup Super League

Matches played as part of the inaugural ICC Cricket World Cup Super League (2020-2023) are essentially World Cup Qualifier matches, as the League will serve as part of the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualification process. It will feature thirteen teams, the twelve Full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), and the Netherlands (who won the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship to qualify for this competition). Each team will play an ODI series against eight of the twelve opponents, four series at home and four away. Each series will consist of three ODIs. For the World Cup, the hosts (India in 2023), and the top seven-ranked sides thereafter, will qualify automatically. The remaining five teams will play in a qualifying event along with five Associate sides, from which two sides will go through to the final tournament.


This website uses cookies in order to improve the site and user experience. By continuing to use it, you agree to our Privacy Policy.